Burling and Tuke named NZ Sailors of the Year

NZ Herald staff,
Publish Date
Saturday, 26 November 2016, 11:51AM
Peter Burling and Blair Tuke in Rio (Photosport)
Peter Burling and Blair Tuke in Rio (Photosport)

Peter Burling and Blair Tuke have been named the New Zealand sailors of the year.

Following a dominant Olympic campaign, the acclaimed 49er skiff team have become the first crew to win the Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy for the fourth consecutive year.

Burling and Tuke had another dominant year, culminating in an astonishing regatta at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games to take the gold medal by 43 points, the biggest winning margin across all the classes in Rio.

The New Zealand pair were assured of a medal after 11 races, assured of gold after 12 races and then won the Rio 2016 49er medal race to secure the Olympic victory in impressive style.

In the nomination period they won two 49er World Championships, as well as being unbeaten in all major regattas in the four-year build up to the Olympic Games.

Burling and Tuke are currently involved in Team New Zealand's America's Cup campaign.


ON AIR: Weekend Sport

3PM - 10PM